The speed of containers, the security of VMs

Kata Containers is a new open source project building extremely lightweight virtual machines that seamlessly plug into the containers ecosystem.

Join us in Vancouver May 21-24, 2018

Join us in Vancouver May 21-24, 2018 for Kata Containers workshops, talks and community!

Check out the Kata Containers sessions and register to attend.

Architecture Committee Schedule
(Weekly Monday Meetings)

Architecture Committee Meetings are Mondays at 15:00UTC.

8am Pacific/15:00UTC meetings: Google calendar or iCal

Dev community standing meetings on Tuesday 7am PT/Tuesday 14:00UTC: Google calendar or iCal

Working Committee Schedule
(Bi-Weekly Thursday Meetings)

The Working Committee Meetings rotate between 15:00UTC and 00:00UTC(Friday).

8am Pacific/15:00UTC meetings: Google calendar or iCal

5pm Pacific/00:00UTC meetings: Google calendar or iCal

What is Kata Containers?

Kata Containers is an open source project and community working to build a standard implementation of lightweight Virtual Machines (VMs) that feel and perform like containers, but provide the workload isolation and security advantages of VMs.

The Kata Containers project will initially comprise six components, including the Agent, Runtime, Proxy, Shim, Kernel and packaging of QEMU 2.9. It is designed to be architecture agnostic, run on multiple hypervisors and be compatible with the OCI specification for Docker containers and CRI for Kubernetes.

Kata Containers combines technology from Intel® Clear Containers and Hyper runV. The code is hosted on Github under the Apache 2 license and the project is managed by the OpenStack Foundation.

See the project status.

Kata Containers Technical Community On-boarding

Supporting Companies

Interested in supporting Kata Containers? Contact us at info@katacontainers.io

Stay up to date
Interested in what Kata is doing and want to learn more?
data